TENSES

A. TENSES

1. PRESENT CONTINOUS TENSES
*Rumus:
1. Positif : S+V.ing+O
2. Negatif : S+do/does+not+V1+O
3. Introgatif : Do/does +S+V1+O
*Example:
1. (+) I am teaching English at the first grade of SMK IMMANUEL 2
(-) I am not teaching English at the first grade of SMK IMMANUEL 2
(?) Am I teaching English at the first grade of SMK IMMANUEL 2?

2. (+) you are writing present continous now
(-) you are not writing present continous now
(?) are you writing present continous now?

3. (+) we are learning tenses now
(-) we are not learning tenses now
(?) are we learning tenses now?

4. (+) I am going to school now
(-) I am not going to school now
(?) Am I going to school now?

5. (+) John and James are running now
(-) John and James are not running now
(?) Are john and james running now?

6. (+) I am going to Jakarta Now
(-) I am not going to Jakarta now
(?) Am I going to Jakarta now?

7. (+) Rini is working right now
(-) Rini is not working right now
(?) Does Rini working right now?

8. (+) Iam today teaching English
(-)Iam today not teaching English
(?) Am I today teaching English?

9. (+) Purba is writing now but he will explain soon
(-) Purba is not writing now but he will explain soon
(?) Does Purba writing now but he will explain soon?

10. (+) The ships are sailing
(-) The ships are not sailing
(?) Are the ships sailing?

2. PRESENT TENSES
*Rumus:
1) Positif (+) = S+V1(es/s)+O
2) Negatif (-) = S+Do/does+Not+V1+O
3) Introgatif(?) =Do/does+S+V1+O

*Example:
1. (+) He writes a letter every month
(-) He doesn’t writes a letter every month
(?) Does he writes a letter every month?

2. (+) She teaches English every week
(-) She doesn’t teaches English every week
(?) Does she teaches English every week?

3. (+) They studys matematic every day
(-) They don’t studys matematic every day
(?) Do they studys matematic every day?

4. (+) She works in the office every Monday to Saturday
(-) She doesn’t works in the office every Monday to Saturday
(?) Does she works in the office every Monday to Saturday?

5. (+) They go to Jakarta every years
(-) They don’t go to Jakarta every years
(?) Do they go to Jakarta every years?

6. (+) She likes eating out
(-) She doesn’t like eating out
(?) Does she like eating out?

7. (+)The children are naughty.
(-)The children aren’t naughty
(?)Are the children naughty?

8. (+)He is works every day
(-) He is not works every day
(?) Is he works every day?

9. (+) A week has seven day
(-) A week has not seven day
(?) Has a week seven day?

10. (+) He arrives from Osaka at 1 pm.
(-)He doesn’t arrives from Osaka at 1 pm.
(?)Does he arrive from Osaka at 1 pm?

3. PAST TENSES
*Rumus:
1. Positif (+) : S+V2+O
2.Negatif (-) : S+Did not+V2+O
3.Introgatif (?): Did+S+V2+O

*Example:
1. (+) Sarah invite me last week
(-) Sarah did not invite last week
(?) Did Sarah invite last week?

2. (+) I went to Jakarta yesterday
(-) I don’t went to Jakarta yesterday
(?) Do I went to Jakarta yesterday?

3. (+) You watch tv last week
(-) You did not watch tv last week
(?) Did you watch tv last week?

4. (+) I call him.
(-) I didn’t call him.
(?) Did i call him ?

5. (+) It rain since at five o’clock
(-) It did not rain since at five o’clock
(?) Did it rain since at five o’clock?

6. (+) I went yesterday
(-) I did not went yesterday
(?) Did I went yesterday?

7. (+) The teacher came
(-) The teacher didn’t came
(?) Did the teacher came?

8. (+) I was a stamp collector
(-) I wasn’t a stamp collector
(?) Was I a stamp collector ?

9. (+) The hunter shot the bear.
(-) The hunter didn’t shoot the bear.
(?) Did the hunter shoot the bear?

10 (+) She drink water.
(-) She didn not drink water.
(?)Did she drink water ?

4. PAST CONTINOUS TENSES
*Rumus:
1. Positif (+): S+was/were+vVing+O
2. Negatif (-): S+was/were+not+v.ing+o
3. introgatif (?): was/were+S+v.ing+o

*Examp;e:
1. (+)The third year student were sitting behind the teacher’s yesterday
(-) The third year student were not sitting behind the teacher’s yesrterday
(?) Were the third year student sitting behind the teacher’s yesterday?

2. (+) He was playing football yesterday
(-) He was not playing football yesterday
(?) was he playing football yesterday?

3. (+) They were working in the office yesterday
(-) They were not working in the office yesterday
(?) Were they working in the office yesterday?

4. (+) Tuti was reading a novel when I come yesterday
(-) Tuti was not reading a novel when I come yesterday
(?) was Tuti reading a novel when I come yesterday?

5. (+) They were studying Biologi at ten O’clock last Friday
(-) They were not studying Biologi at ten o’clock last Friday
(?) were they studying Biologi at temn o’clock last Friday?

6. (+) I was going to garden when it began to rain
(-) I was not going to garden when it began to rain
(?) Was I going to garden when it gegan to rain?

7. (+) at three o’clock last week, She was reading
(-) at three o’clock last week,She was not reading
(?) at three o’clock last week,was she reading?

8. (+) I was reading a book, while Ani writing a letter
(-) I was not reading a book,while Ani writing a letter
(?) Was I reading a book,while Ani writing a letter?

9. (+) The team was running
(-) The team was not running
(? Was the team running ?

10 (+) The workers were queuing
(-) The workers weren’t queuing
(?) Were the workers queuing

5. PRESENT PERFECT TENSES
*Rumus:
1. Posituf (+) : S+have/has+V3+O
2. Negatif (-) : S+have/has+not+V3+O
3. Introgatif (?): Have/has+S+V3+O

*Example:
1. (+) We have learned English for two years
(-) We have not learned English for two years
(?) Have we learned English for two years?

2. (+) She has taught English since 1988
(-) She has not taught English since 1988
(?) Has she taught English since 1988?

3.(+) He has been to Jakarta before
(-) He has not been to Jakarta before
(?) Has he been to Jakarta before?

4.(+) He has a written a letter for thirty minutes
(-) He has not a written a letter for thirty minutes
(?) Has he a written a letter for thirty minutes?

5.(+) I have just spoken to him
(-) I have not just spoken to him
(?) Have I just spoken to him?

6.(+) I have gone to school
(-) I have not gone to school
(?) Have I gone to school?

7. (+) I have learned in the Immanuel school since 2000
(-) I have not learned in the Immanuel school since 2000
(?) Have I learned in the Immanuel school since 2000?

8. (+) I have just read my book
(-) I have not just read my book
(?) Have I just read my book?

9. (+) I have read
(-) I have not read
(?) Have I read?

10 (+) He has left
(-) He hasn’t left
(?) Has he left ?


6. PRESENT PERFECT CONTINOUS TENSES
*Rumus:
1. Positif (+): S+have/has+been+Ving+O
2. Negatif (-): S+have/has+not+been+Ving+O
3. Itrogatif (?): Have/has+S+been+Ving+O

*Example:
1. (+) I have been going to Pantai Samudra for my holiday since 2002
(-) I have not going to Painting Samudra for my holiday since 2002
(?) Have I going to Pantai Samudra for my holiday since 2002?

2. (+) Mr.Burhanudin Simanjuntak has been teaching at SMK IMMANUEL 2 since 2003
(-) Mr.Burhanudin Simanjuntak has not been teaching at SMK IMMANUEL 2 since 2003
(?) Has Mr.Burhanudin Simanjuntak been teaching at SMK IMMANUEL 2 since 2003?

3. (+) She has been painting every day for a long time
(-) She has not painting every day for a long time
(?) Has she painting every day or along time?

4. (+) It has been raining since at six o’clock
(-) It has not been raining since at six o’clock
(?) Has it been raining since at six o’clock?

5. (+) The girl has been crying since she was a child
(-) The girl has not been crying since she was a child
(?) Has the girl been crying since she was a child?

6. (+) I have been going to my grandmother home for my holiday since 1990
(-) I have not been going to my grandmother home for my holiday since 1990
(?) Have I been going to my grandmother home for my holiday since 1990?

7. (+) I have been studying here since 2000
(-) I have not been studying here since 2000
(?) Have I been studying here since 2000?

8. (+) She has been driving
(-) She has not been driving
(?) Has she been driving ?

9. (+) The toddlers have been sleeping
(-) The toddlers haven’t been sleeping
(?) Have the toddlers been sleeping?

10 (+) The toddlers have been playing cards.
(-) The toddlers haven’t been playing a cards.
(?) Have the toddlers been playing a cards?

7. PAST PERFECT TENSES
*Rumus:
1. Positif (+): S+had+V3+O
2. Negatif (-): S+had not+V3+o
3. Intrigattif (?):Had+S+V3+O
*Example:
1. (+) The train had left before I arrived
(-) The train had not left before I arrived
(?) Had the train left before I arrived?

2. (+) I had copied the lesson before she come home
(-) I had not copied the lesson before she come home
(?) Had I copied the lesson before she come home?

3. (+) I had come home before I week three
(-) I had not come home before I week three
(?) Had I come home before I week three?

4. (+) I had written this lesson before he called me
(-) I had not written a lesson before he called me
(?) Had I written a lesson before he called me?

5. (+) When my brother arrived, I had painted my car
(-) When my brother arrived, I had not painted my car
(?) When my brother arrived, had I painted my car?

6. (+) I had come home before I month three
(-) I had not come home before I month three
(?) Had I come home before I month three?

7. (+) By the end of the month, she had lived here
(-) By the end of the month, she had not lived here
(?) Had by the end of the month, she lived here?

8. (+) My brother had slept
(-) My brother hadn’t slept
(?) Had my brother come ?

9. (+) They had come
(-) They hadn’t come
(?) Had they come ?

10 (+) My brother had slept
(-) My brother hadn’t slept
(?) Had my brother slept?


8. FUTURE TENSES
a. FUTURE PERFECT TENSES
*Rumus:
1. Positif (+): S+will/shall+have+V3+O
2. negatif (-) : S+will/shall+not+have+V3+O
3. Introgatif (?): Will/shall+S+have+V3+O

*Example:
1. (+) She will have written his lesson by time she go out
(-) She will not have written his lesson by time she go out
(?) Will she have written his lesson by time she go out?

2. (+) The game will finished by the time he get three
(-) The game will not finished by the time he get three
(?) Will the game finished by the time he get three?

3. (+) I shall have written a letter by eight o’clock tomorrow
(-) I shall not have written a letter by eight o’clock tomorrow
(?) Shall I have written a letter by eight o’clock tomorrow?

4. (+) We shall have played a basketball when he came
(-) We shall not have played a basketball when he came
(?) Shall we have played a basketball when he came?

5. (+) When my uncle comes tomorrow, my grandmother will have left my house
(-) When my uncle comes tomorrow, my grandmother will not have left my house
(?) When my uncle comes tomorrow, will my grandmother have left my house?


b. FUTURE CONTINOUS TENSES
*Rumus:
1. Positif (+): S+shall/will+be+Ving+O
2. Negatif (-): S+shall/will+not+be+Ving+O
3. Introgatif (?): Shall/will+S+be+ving+O

*Example:
1. (+) I shall be waiting for you in this station at four o’clock
(-) I shall not be waiting for you in this station at four o’clock
(?) Shall I be waiting for you in this station at four o’clock?

2. (+) I shall be studying at this time tomorrow
(-) I shall not be studying at this time tomorrow
(?) Shall I be studying at this time tomorrow?

3. (+) I shall be waiting for you in this airport at three o’clock tomorrow evening
(-) I shall not be waiting for you in this airport at three o’clock tomorrow evening
(?) Shall I be waiting for you in this airport at three o’clock tomorrow evening?

4. (+) He will be working at this time tomorrow
(-) He will not be working at this time tomorrow
(?) Will he be working at this time tomorrow?

5. (+) She will going to be school together at seven o’clcok tomorrow
(-) She will not going to be school together at seven o’clock tomorrow
(?) Will she going to be school together at seven o’clock tomorrow

Leave a Reply

